Sunday, November 23, 2014

Honors 2014

Each year, the American Musicological Society names as Honorary Members longstanding members who have made outstanding contributions to further the society's objectives and the field of musical scholarship. This year there are four:

Jane Bernstein, Austin Fletcher Professor of Music, Tufts University
     Bernstein's scholarly writings include works on Renaissance Venetian music, 19th-century opera, and women’s studies. Her book Printing in Renaissance Venice: The Scotto Press (Oxford UP, 1998) won the Otto Kinkeldey Award. She has also received fellowships and grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the American Council of Learned Societies, the American Philosophical Society, and the Gladys Delmas Foundation for Venetian Studies. She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2005. She spent many years on eight different American Musicologcial Society committees, and served as president 2008–10.

Suzanne Cusick, Professor of Music, New York University
     Cusick's scholarship, impressive for its range and impact, encompasses Caccini and Monteverdi, gender and sexuality in early modern Italy and contemporary North America, and pioneering work on the use of noise, music, and gender coercion in the detention and interrogation of prisoners in the ongoing twenty-first-century war on terror. She has received numerous fellowships and awards including the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women Book Award (2010), the Philip Brett Award given by the LGBTQ Study Group of the American Musicological Society (2007), and a fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies.  Within the American Musicological Society, Cusick has served terms on the Board of Directors, the Program Committee, the Committee on the Annual Meeting, and the Publications Committee.

William F. Prizer, Professor of Music, emeritus, University of California, Santa Barbara
     Prizer's scholarship on the music of the Renaissance is remarkable in its erudition, quantity, and significance. He has published more than thirty articles on such topics as musical patronage, secular vocal music of northern Italy, and the source of the L’Homme armé tradition. His work draws on extensive archival sleuthing, sensitive musical analysis, and theories of gender, and it has appeared in leading journals and edited volumes. Among his many editions are the Libro Primo de la Croce: Canzone, Frottole, and Capitoli, and Courtly Pastimes: The Frottole of Marchetto Cara. Prizer has twice been a fellow at Villa i Tatti (the Harvard University Center for Italian Renaissance Studies) and has received grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the National Humanities Center, and the American Philosophical Society. He has been on the award committees for the H. Colin Slim and Claude Palisca prizes, and was editor of the Journal of the American Musicological Society.

Edward Roesner, Professor of Music, emeritus, New York University
     Roesner's editions of some of the core manuscripts of the 12th and 13th centuries, including the Roman de Fauvel, Florence 29.1, and the Notre Dame tripla and quadrupla in the Magnus liber organi are an exceptional achievement. In these editions he demonstrates his expertise in a range of related fields: 12th- and 13th-century polyphony, Gregorian chant, history of liturgy, music theory and aesthetics, paleography, and performance practice. He has received grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Herzog-August Bibliothek in Wolfenbüttel, and the government of Monaco. In the American Musicological Society, Roesner has served on the Finance Committee, the Publications Committee, and the Committee on the History of the Society.

Corresponding Members
are those who at the time of their election are citizens of countries other than Canada or the United States and who have made particularly notable contributions to furthering the stated object of the American Musicological Society. This year there are three new Corresponding Members:

Mark Everist, Professor of Music, University of Southampton
     Everist's prolific scholarship on medieval music, French 19th-century stage music, Mozart, reception theory, and historiography have earned him many awards. These include the Westrup Prize, an Arts and Humanities Research Board Innovations Award, and from the American Musicological Society both the Ruth A. Solie Award for the best collection of essays on a musicological topic (which he shared with Annegret Fauser) and the H. Colin Slim award for a musicological article of exceptional merit. For the AMS Everist has been a member of the Program Committee and the Palisca Committee, and he has just finished a term as president of the Royal Musical Association of the United Kingdom

John Griffiths, University of Melbourne (1980–2011)
     A prolific scholar and performer, Griffiths is an authority in 16th-century Spanish music. His publications include Políticas y practices musicales en el mundo de Felipe II, La América española: proyecto y resistencia, and Neapolitan Lute Music (A-R Editions). As a performer (vihuela, medieval and Renaissance lutes, theorbo, chitarrone, and baroque and nineteenth-century guitars), he has recorded numerous CDs. His honors include election to the Australian Academy of the Humanities and to a term as president of the Musicological Society of Australia. Additionally, for his contributions to Spanish culture, he was knighted by King Juan Carlos II of Spain, making him an Oficial de la Orden de Isabel la Católica.

Ulrich Konrad, Professor of Musicology, University of Würzburg
     Konrad has published distinguished books on Bach and Handel, Mozart, and Brahms, a life and works of Mozart, and Beethoven’s string quartets, and has edited volumes for the Neue Mozart Ausgabe. For these he has been much honored, including the Silver Mozart Medal of the Internationalen Stiftung Mozarteum Salzburg, the Dent Medal of the Royal Musical Association, and the Hermann Abert-Preis from the Gesellschaft für Musikforschung. Professor Konrad has served on many boards, including that of RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales), and has been board chairman of both the Akademie für Mozart-Forschung der Stiftung Mozarteum in Salzburg, and of the Robert-Schumann-Forschungsstelle in Düsseldorf.

No comments:

Post a Comment